Religious Workers’ Association

Religious Workers' Association

The Religious Workers Association (RWA) at UIC is comprised of campus groups and foundations with professional staff committed to serving students’ religious and spiritual needs in an open, non-proselytizing environment.

Member Organizations:

  • St. John Paul II Newman Center (Catholic Center)
  • Levine Hillel Center (Jewish Center)
  • Chabad (Jewish Center)
  • The Inclusive Collective (Protestant ministry, formerly Agape House)
  • InterVarsity Christian Fellowship (Interdenominational Protestant ministry)
  • International Friends (International Christian Outreach ministry)
  • Navigators (International, Interdenominational Christian ministry)
  • UIC Campus Outreach (Interdenominational Christian Outreach)
  • Sikh Student Association (Sikh ministry)
  • Hindu Student Council (Hindu ministry)

For information on religious groups and activities not represented by RWA please see the list of
UIC registered student organizations.

The St. John Paul II Newman Center

The John Paul II Newman Center is the Catholic presence on UIC’s campus. We offer a variety of spiritual, social, educational and service programming for individuals and groups. We are a resource for all students, particularly the Catholic community at UIC. All are welcome! #CatholicFlames

Address: 700 S. Morgan St.

Website: jp2newman.org

Social Media: @jp2newman

Phone Number: 312-226-1880

Staff:

Fr. Connor Danstrom, Director/Chaplain (cdanstrom@archchicago.org)

MAIN CONTACT – Becca Siar, Director of Campus Ministry (rsiar@archchicago.org)

Monica Mackie, FOCUS Missionary (monica.mackie@focus.org)

Daniel Sahyouni, FOCUS Missionary (daniel.sahyouni@focus.org)

Ryan Saltness, FOCUS Missionary (ryan.saltness@focus.org)

Khaila Roth, FOCUS Missionary (mikhaila.roth@focus.org)

Stefanie Sugiaman, FOCUS Missionary (stefanie.sugiaman@focus.org)

The Inclusive Collective

BORED BY CHRISTIANITY IN THE PAST? BURNED BY IT? BRAND NEW TO THE WHOLE GOD THING? We’d love for you to check us out. We are the Inclusive Collective. A campus ministry that’s all about the good sh*t, and less about the bull sh*t. Our ministry is not perfect, but we’re striving to create a relevant, honest, and truly INCLUSIVE faith community at UIC: LGBTQ and Straight, Seeker and Skeptic, Freshman and Grad Student – all are welcome and loved here.

IG: @LetsGetInclusiveUIC

Website: letsgetinclusiveuic.org/connect

Phone Number: 601-810-2100

Staff: 

MAIN CONTACT – Rich Havard, Pastor (rich@letsgetinclusiveuic.org)

InterVarsity Christian Fellowship

InterVarsity Christian Fellowship is an interdenominational Christian fellowship of students striving to be a witnessing community on campus; a place to learn about and participate in who God is and what He’s doing in our personal lives, on campus, and in the world. Whether a committed Christian or simply someone who wants to know more, we have a place for you!

Website: intervarsity.org

Phone Number: 317-366-4571

 

Staff:

MAIN CONTACT – HC Yang, Multi-Ethnic Student Ministry and Black Campus Ministry (hc.yang@intervarsity.org)

Kweku Bransah (kweku.bransah@intervarsity.org)

Jenny Galindo, Latino Fellowship (LaFe) (jennifer.galindo@intervarsity.org)

Justin Sebastian, Asian American InterVarsity (AAIV) (justin.sebastian@intervarsity.org)

Levine Hillel Center

Levine Hillel Center is the hub of Jewish life at UIC. Run by the Jewish Student Board, through Hillel students from diverse backgrounds and affiliations come together for social events, holiday celebrations, Shabbat dinners, political and social activism, Jewish education and more! The Hillel building is a great place to hang out, meet new people, get a kosher snack or even study! “Explore your Jewish identity for the present and future.”

Address: 716 W Maxwell St

Website: metrochicagohillel.org

Phone Number: 312-829-1595

 

Staff:

Charles Cohen, Executive Director (charles@metrochicagohillel.org)

MAIN CONTACT – Andrew Freeman, Jewish Life Associate (andrew@metrochicagohillel.org)

Rav Ezra Balser, Campus Rabbi, Base LOOP (ezra@metrochicagohillel.org)

Rabbi Nicole Berne, Assistant Director (nicole@metrochicagohillel.org)

Chabad

Chabad at UIC is a home where all are welcome, regardless of background and affiliation. It is a Jewish student organization that provides educational, social, and recreational programming for students and faculty. It is a space where students socialize in a comfortable home-like setting with great friends, superb food, and stimulating discussion. It is a center for prayer and study, where students can gain a deeper understanding and appreciation of their Jewish heritage.

Address: 1074 W Polk St  

Website: chabaduic.com  

Phone Number: 312-733-1383 or 312-523-7126 

 

Staff: 

MAIN CONTACT – Rabbi Bentzion Shemtov, Director (rabbibentzy@gmail.com)

Chani Shemtov, Co-Director (chanishemtov@gmail.com)

International Friends

International Friends is a Christian Fellowship that exists to share Christ’s love with international students & scholars. We work with local churches & others to serve this community. We offer monthly recreational events, weekly bible studies, English Conversation and Leadership Training classes. This community is open to anyone regardless of faith, ethnicity, philosophy, or religious background.

Website: isichicago.org

Phone Number: 312 532 0816

 

Staff:

MAIN CONTACT – Ron Ingram (atleston@yahoo.com)

Chicago Navigators

Navigators advance the Good News of Jesus and His Kingdom in the mosaic of Chicago and the world through spiritual generations of laborers, ordinary people embracing authenticity, justice, reconciliation, and grace.

Website: chicagonavs.org/ministries/collegiate

Phone Number: 803-394-2368

Staff:

MAIN CONTACT – James Crumb, Collegiate – UIC (james@chicagonavs.org)

Tim Bierma, Collegiate – UIC (tim@chicagonavs.org)

Adrien Cook, Collegiate – UIC (Adrienchicagonavs@gmail.com)

Kendra Goering, Collegiate – UIC (kendra@chicagonavs.org)

Carolyn Bierma, Collegiate – UIC (carolynchicagonavs@gmail.com)

 

UIC Campus Outreach

Campus Outreach is a ministry built on relationships. It is through these life-on-life relationships that college students come to know Christ, mature in their relationship with Him, and share their lives and faith with others through discipleship.

Website: couic.org

Phone Number: 314-249-6867

 

Staff:

MAIN CONTACT – Tony Dentman (Tony.Dentman@campusoutreach.org)

Anthony Cabrera (Anthony.cabrera@campusoutreach.org)

Grace Ufot (Grace.ufot@campusoutreach.org)

Jessie Ellison (Jessie.ellison@campusoutreach.org)

Jonathan Salinas (Jonathan.salinas@campusoutreach.org)

Elena Lopez ( elena.lopez@campusoutreach.org)

Sikh Student Association

The Sikh Student Association is an organization based on the Sikh faith, with a mission to educate the UIC community on Sikh values, as well as emphasize service to the community. We are open to all students, regardless of religious affiliation. We hope that you join us in our journey to raise awareness of the 5th largest religion in the world, and connect through comprehensive community building, Sikh activism, and community service.

Email: ssaofuic@gmail.com 

Website: www.facebook.com/SSAatUIC 

Instagram: @ssaatuic

Staff/Student Leadership:

MAIN CONTACT – Parkash Talwar, Advisor (ptalwar@uic.edu)

Simmi Dhami, President (sdhami2@uic.edu)

Jagit Bhatia, Vice President (Jbhati3@uic.edu)

Vansh Singh, Secretary (vsingh46@uic.edu)

Deepa Dhillon, Treasurer (ddhill2@uic.edu)

Simmi Kaur, Social Media Coordinator (skaur29@uic.edu)

Rohan Pinjani, Seva (Service) Coordinator (rpinja2@uic.edu)

Amardev Khalsa, Recreational & Co-Religious Coordinator (akhals2@uic.edu)

Jujhar Singh, Religious Apprentice (jlnu2@uic.edu)

Gurleen Kaur, Cultural Coordinator (gkaur23@uic.edu)

Hindu Student Council

The Hindu Student Council’s goal is to bring awareness and understanding of Hinduism to UIC’s general student body population.

Website: facebook.com/hsc.uic

Social Media: @hsc.uic

Staff/Student Leadership:

MAIN CONTACT – Renuka Upadhye, Advisor (rupadh3@uic.edu)

Janki Dave, Advisor (jdave5@uic.edu)

Mrudit Desai, Student President (mdesai28@uic.edu)

Avadh Kakkad, Vice President (akakka4@uic.edu)

Cornerstone Cru

Cornerstone Cru is a Christian movement that loves to explore Jesus with students and create space for spiritual conversations on campus. Regardless of what background you’re coming from, we’d be happy to connect you with our community!

Website: https://www.cornerstonecru.com/

Contact phone: 616-510-1327

Social media: @cornerstonecru_uic